The 2016 Australian International eSports Federation World Championship Qualifiers Grand Final will be the first ever eSports competition aired on free-to-air television, airing on both SBS 2 and Friday the 2nd of September at 9:30pm AEST.

Hosted by the Australian eSports League’s Maddie Searle and Danny Kim, and the President of the Australian eSports Association Darren Kwan, the competition will pit the two best Counter-Strike: Global Offensive teams in Australia - SYF Gaming and Athletico - against each other in a series of best of three battles. The winning team will receive $13,200 as well as be representing Australia in the 2016 World Championships in Jakarta, Indonesia in October.

“The winning team will [also] represent Australia against over 35 nations in three titles, over a three day gaming spectacular”, said Kwan.

It’s great to see eSports is finally getting public recognition, especially on free-to-air television. Hopefully, South Australian Senator Nick Xenaphon doesn’t begin drawing connections to SBS 2 viewers and gambling like he did with Counter-Strike: Global Offensive and Dota 2 in the past.